What is a cheaper UserTesting alternative?

UserTesting does not publish prices; every plan says request pricing. For published prices with real people, Userbrain starts at $49 a month for 3 panel testers, Userfeel has a free plan for testers you bring, and PlaybookUX charges $65 per unmoderated participant. Userlytics and Lookback add moderated sessions. If you have no users yet and only need to know whether a stranger gets through your live flow, AI user tools (CanaryUsers, Menso, Swarm) start free. Menso sells one of these, so every fact below links to its source.

Last updated

UserTesting alternatives at a glance

UserTesting alternatives compared on price and live website tests
ToolFree plan or trialPaid fromTests a live websiteFits better when (our reading)
Tools that test with real people: real participants, from your own list or the tool's panel
Lookback lookback.comNo free plan; a trial of 5 sessions over 60 days. (lookback.com pricing, company page)Freelance $299 a year; panel participants $49 each on pay-as-you-go, incentives not included. (lookback.com pricing, company page)Not stated on its pricing page. (lookback.com pricing, company page)You want to watch and talk to people during the session, not only afterwards.
Lyssna lyssna.comFree: 15 self-recruited responses, 3 seats, no card. (lyssna.com pricing, company page)Growth $166 a month. Responses from its 690,000+ panel are priced separately on every plan. (lyssna.com pricing, company page)Yes, listed on the Growth plan. (lyssna.com pricing, company page)You run many small studies (first-click, five-second, preference, prototype) and want a free plan to start.
Maze maze.coUnknown: not stated as text on its pricing page. (maze.co pricing, company page)Unknown: plan prices are not published as text. (maze.co pricing, company page)Yes, listed as live website testing; the plan is not stated. Its panel has over 5 million people. (maze.co pricing, company page)Prototype tests, live website tests, surveys and interviews with real people in one tool.
PlaybookUX playbookux.comA free trial at sign-up, no card; its length is not stated. (playbookux.com pricing, company page)$65 per unmoderated panel participant (10–15 minutes), $115 moderated; self-serve plans from $5,400 a year. (playbookux.com pricing, company page)Yes: any link, including websites, apps and prototypes. (playbookux.com pricing, company page)You want to pay per participant, moderated or not, from a large consumer and B2B panel.
Userbrain userbrain.com30-day trial with 2 panel testers, no card. (userbrain.com pricing, company page)Starter $49 a month: 3 panel testers and 1 test a month. (userbrain.com pricing, company page)Yes: any website by link; each tester returns a screen-and-audio recording. (userbrain.com pricing, company page)Small teams that want a few real-person recordings every month at a fixed price.
Userfeel userfeel.comFree: 3 credits a month (about 3 unmoderated sessions) with testers you bring. (userfeel.com pricing, company page)Solo $3,000 a year: 50 credits at $60 each, panel recruiting and incentives included. (userfeel.com pricing, company page)Not stated on its pricing page. (userfeel.com pricing, company page)You want recruiting, incentives and analysis in one per-session price, with moderated sessions from Solo.
Userlytics userlytics.comNo free plan stated; it offers a demo. (userlytics.com pricing, company page)Project-based with a 5-session minimum, price custom; annual Enterprise from about $30–34 a session. (userlytics.com pricing, company page)Yes: websites, apps and prototypes, recording webcam, screen and audio. (userlytics.com pricing, company page)You want moderated and unmoderated sessions from a 2 million panel, priced per session.
UserTesting usertesting.comOne free test with a real person reviewing your site. (usertesting.com plans, company page)Request pricing on every plan. (usertesting.com plans, company page)Tests with real people from its own participant panel, which it says spans more than 60 countries. (usertesting.com plans, company page)Larger teams that need real people from a global panel and can commit to an annual plan.
AI users on your live site: an AI agent in a real browser; no participants
CanaryUsers canaryusers.aiFree: 100 credits a month. (canaryusers.ai pricing, company page)Starter $9 a month. (canaryusers.ai pricing, company page)Yes: it scans a URL with a group of AI users. (canaryusers.ai, company page; CanaryUsers MCP README, company page)You want a fast, low-cost scan from your editor, with SEO checks included.
Menso menso.ioFree: 100 credits to start and 20 a day you sign in; a Fast test is 40 credits. (menso.io pricing, company page)Pro $29 a month (1,800 credits). (menso.io pricing, company page)Yes: one task on the live site, with a replay of every step. (menso.io how it works, company page)You have no participants yet and want to watch a stranger attempt one real task on the live site.
Swarm useswarm.coFree: 5 test runs, lifetime. (useswarm.co pricing, company page)Startup $150 a month (20 live runs). (useswarm.co pricing, company page)Yes, in production or on localhost through a tunnel. (useswarm.co, company page; @useswarm/cli on npm, company page; Swarm blog: CI/CD, company page)You want persona tests from the terminal or CI, including localhost.

Prices from each company's pricing page: PlaybookUX, Userbrain, Userfeel and Userlytics checked Oct 26, 2026, the other participant tools Oct 21, 2026 for our Maze alternatives page. Prices change, so follow the links. Names are alphabetical within a group, and Menso does not rank itself.

Pick by why you are leaving UserTesting

  • You want to know the price before a sales call. Userbrain, Userfeel and PlaybookUX publish theirs; start with a trial or free plan on one real study.
  • You run a few tests a month. A small fixed plan (Userbrain) or credits you buy as needed (Userfeel, PlaybookUX) usually costs less than an annual contract.
  • You need live conversations. Lookback, Userlytics, Userfeel and PlaybookUX offer moderated sessions.
  • You have no users yet. An AI user tool gives a first read on your live signup or checkout before launch. See how Menso runs a test and how to test a signup flow.
  • Nothing above. If UserTesting's panel and contract fit, stay: moving studies and highlight reels has its own cost.

What an AI user run looks like

An AI user test returns something different from a recorded session with a person, so here is one Menso run from the public Product Hunt board, with its review note. The TRACES page explains the score, and pricing lists what a test costs.

Every run here used Menso's Purchase intent template: the persona Zainab Salazar, a freelance UX consultant, reads the homepage, the pricing page and the FAQ, decides whether she would buy or sign up, and stops before paying. It is a route-specific diagnostic, not a product-wide score.

AINA

TRACES 64.5/100

Product Hunt week 38 (Sep 14 – 20, 2026), #7 on Product Hunt's board · tested Sep 21, 2026 · one AI user, one run (n=1) · Deep test · 14 of 16 steps · aina-tech.io

Zainab scrolled the candidate page and opened the FAQ. At step 7 she expanded “What does it cost?”, and at step 8 she read the answer: $49 a month, which she took to be the company plan. At step 13 she typed the usual pricing address; at step 14 it returned a not-found page, and she decided not to sign up.

T 4 · R 4 · A 2.5 · C 4 · E 2 · S 2.5 (each out of 5)

Review note: The run mixed the candidate and recruiter purchase contexts; the $49 figure describes the recruiter service, not the free candidate profile.

Made one of these products? Write to support@menso.io and we will correct or remove the example as soon as we can.

Limits of this page

  • It is written by Menso, which sells one of the tools listed.
  • We read each pricing page; we have not run the same study on every tool, so this compares what each one offers and costs, not how well it works.
  • Where a page did not show a price or a feature as text, we wrote unknown or not stated rather than guess. Trymata is missing because its pricing page was unavailable when we checked.
  • Spotted a mistake about your product? Write to support@menso.io and we will fix it.

Questions people ask

How much does UserTesting cost?

UserTesting does not publish prices: every plan on its plans page says request pricing, charged by test usage or as unlimited tests for a team. A competitor, Userlytics, puts it at $16,900 to $136,800 a year; that is a rival's estimate, not UserTesting's figure.

What is the cheapest UserTesting alternative?

If you recruit testers yourself, Userfeel (3 sessions a month) and Lyssna (15 responses) have free plans. With panel testers included, Userbrain's Starter is $49 a month for 3 testers, Userfeel's credits work out at $60 a session and PlaybookUX charges $65 per unmoderated participant, each checked on Oct 26, 2026. Compare the price of one recorded session, not the plan.

Can I get real people to test my website for free?

For a handful of sessions, yes. Userbrain's 30-day trial includes 2 panel testers, UserTesting has offered one free test, and Userfeel's free plan covers 3 sessions a month if you bring the testers. Beyond that, someone pays the participants: the tool, inside its price, or you.

Can an AI user test replace UserTesting?

No. An AI user shows where a stranger might get stuck on your live site, but it is not a person: it has no inbox, no phone and nothing at stake, and it cannot tell you how your customers feel. Use it to decide where to look, then confirm with people. That applies to Menso too.