Synthetic Users sells annual plans from $12,500 a year, so most alternatives differ on price first. Then pick by what you need simulated. For persona reactions to a design or landing page, Evelance charges per persona. To see whether an AI user gets through your live site, CanaryUsers, Menso, Swarm and Uxia operate a real browser, most with a free tier. For real people's reasons, Koji and User Intuition run AI-moderated interviews. Menso sells one of these, so every fact below links to its source.
Last updated
Synthetic Users alternatives at a glance
Synthetic Users alternatives compared on price and live website tests
Tool
Free plan or trial
Paid from
Works on a live website
Fits better when (our reading)
Synthetic personas: no one uses your product: AI personas answer questions or react to a design
Evelance evelance.io
Free trial: 5 days, 10 personas, no card. (evelance.io pricing, company page)
Pay as you go at $2.99 a persona; packs from 10 for $29.90. (evelance.io pricing, company page)
Single-design, A/B and competitor tests, including homepages and landing pages; whether personas operate a live site is not stated. (evelance.io pricing, company page)
You want scored reactions to a design or landing page from many personas, paid per persona.
Yes: participants use the product on their own device while the AI moderator asks follow-ups. (User Intuition usability testing, company page)
Agencies and research teams that need real people's reasons, recorded, at survey scale.
Facts from each company's own pages, checked Oct 23, 2026 for Synthetic Users, Evelance and Uxia; the other rows match our comparison of AI usability testing tools. Names are alphabetical within a group, and Menso does not rank itself.
Pick by what you need simulated
Reactions to a concept, message or design. Synthetic personas answer like respondents. Cheap and fast; treat the answers as hypotheses.
Whether a stranger gets through your live flow. An AI user operates your real signup, checkout or onboarding and shows where it stalls. See how to test a signup flow.
Why real people behave as they do. AI-moderated interviews with real participants cost more per answer but are evidence about people.
A check on every deploy. CanaryUsers runs on every push from its Starter plan, and Swarm's Startup plan adds a GitHub Action.
What an AI user run looks like
The output of an AI user test is a record of what happened, not an opinion. Here is one Menso run from the public Product Hunt board, with its review note. The TRACES page explains the score, and pricing lists what a test costs.
Every run here used Menso's Purchase intent template: the persona Zainab Salazar, a freelance UX consultant, reads the homepage, the pricing page and the FAQ, decides whether she would buy or sign up, and stops before paying. It is a route-specific diagnostic, not a product-wide score.
AINA
TRACES 64.5/100
Product Hunt week 38 (Sep 14 – 20, 2026), #7 on Product Hunt's board · tested Sep 21, 2026 · one AI user, one run (n=1) · Deep test · 14 of 16 steps · aina-tech.io
Zainab scrolled the candidate page and opened the FAQ. At step 7 she expanded “What does it cost?”, and at step 8 she read the answer: $49 a month, which she took to be the company plan. At step 13 she typed the usual pricing address; at step 14 it returned a not-found page, and she decided not to sign up.
T 4 · R 4 · A 2.5 · C 4 · E 2 · S 2.5 (each out of 5)
Review note: The run mixed the candidate and recruiter purchase contexts; the $49 figure describes the recruiter service, not the free candidate profile.
Made one of these products? Write to support@menso.io and we will correct or remove the example as soon as we can.
Limits of this page
It is written by Menso, which sells one of the tools listed.
We read each company's pages; we have not run the same study on every tool, so this compares what each one offers and costs, not how well it works.
Where a page did not show a price or a feature as text, we wrote unknown or not stated rather than guess. Ask Rally is not listed because its pricing page could not be read when we checked.
Spotted a mistake about your product? Write to support@menso.io and we will fix it.
Questions people ask
How much does Synthetic Users cost?
Its pricing page lists annual plans from $12,500 a year, with no free plan stated, checked on Oct 23, 2026. Follow the pricing page for today's figure.
Is there a free alternative to Synthetic Users?
Several have a free tier or trial: CanaryUsers (100 credits a month), Menso (credits to start and a daily grant), Swarm (5 runs), Evelance (a 5-day trial with 10 personas) and Uxia (one test). None of them does exactly what Synthetic Users does, so compare on the question you need answered, not on the free tier.
What is the difference between synthetic users and AI user testing?
Synthetic users are AI personas that answer questions or react to a concept, much like survey or interview respondents. AI user testing puts an AI agent in a real browser to try a task on your site, so the result is what it did, step by step, rather than what it said. The line is blurring: Synthetic Users added a mode in 2026 in which its participants use a live website. See how Menso runs an AI user test.
Are synthetic users reliable?
For some questions. They are fast and cheap, but they are not people. The Nielsen Norman Group warns against presenting synthetic-user findings as real-user findings, and studies of AI-simulated users report that they miss friction and look more optimistic (Liu et al., Yoon et al.). Synthetic Users' own pricing page says it is not meant to replace research with real people. That applies to Menso's AI users too.